Columbia-Greene Media: Editorials

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Editorials

Opinion

OUR VIEW Of nematodes and men

One of the most fascinating things about living in this area is the number of near-invincible pests waiting to bring us to our knees.

  • icon Posted: May 05

More From Opinion

Recent Headlines

Tuesday 05/05/2015
OUR VIEW Of nematodes and men
Posted: May 05, 2015

One of the most fascinating things about living in this area is the number of near-invincible pests waiting to bring us to our knees.

Saturday 05/02/2015
OUR VIEW Remember to be kind
Posted: May 02, 2015

This is the 100th anniversary of Be Kind to Animals Week, a celebration held from May 3 through 9, first marked in 1915.

Friday 05/01/2015
OUR VIEW Walk a mile, save a life
Posted: May 01, 2015

Walk a mile, save a life. And it could be your own. That’s what the New York State Bridge Authority hopes will happen with a new sponsorship of its mile-long Rip Van Winkle Bridge Walkway by Columbia Memorial Health.

Thursday 04/30/2015
OUR VIEW Going smoke-free
Posted: April 30, 2015

Congratulations to Catskill Mountain Housing Development Corp. and the Catamount Ski Area for being selected as the winners of Tobacco-Free Action of Columbia and Greene Counties awards for discouraging smoking and encouraging a healthier lifestyle.

Tuesday 04/28/2015
OUR VIEW Where the buffalo roam
Posted: April 28, 2015

Upstaters are used to seeing deer, bears and maybe the occasional moose crossing road. But no one was prepared for the sight that met their disbelieving eyes in Coeymans last Friday. A herd of buffalo thundered across the Thruway and Route 9W, sparking cancellation of after-school activities in Ravena, an equally large herd of humans chasing the buffalo with smart phones and a media circus usually reserved for a celebrity visit.

Friday 04/24/2015
OUR VIEW Testimony on a t-shirt
Posted: April 24, 2015

Believe it or not, one of the nation’s biggest campaigns to stop violence against women started with a T-shirt.

Thursday 04/23/2015
OUR VIEW Recruitment and commitment
Posted: April 23, 2015

More than 400 fire departments in New York state have signed up to host open house recruitment events April 25 and April 26 during the fifth annual RecruitNY Weekend.

Wednesday 04/22/2015
OUR VIEW Parents flex muscle over Common Core
Posted: April 22, 2015

Elementary school students across Greene and Columbia counties were supposed to take the Common Core English Language Arts assessment test last week, but many parents exercised their right to refuse state-mandated exams.

Tuesday 04/21/2015
OUR VIEW Earth Day meets a changing world
Posted: April 21, 2015

Wednesday marks the 45th anniversary of Earth Day. The day was conceived in 1970 to bring environmental concerns to the forefront.

Friday 04/17/2015
OUR VIEW Undesirable legacy
Posted: April 17, 2015

If you’ve lived in the bucolic surroundings known as the upper Hudson Valley for a long time, you would think it inconceivable that drugs and crime would walk hand-in-hand through that valley.

Thursday 04/16/2015
OUR VIEW The Great Emancipator
Posted: April 16, 2015

“My friends, no one not in my situation can appreciate my feeling of sadness at this parting.

Wednesday 04/15/2015
OUR VIEW Weather fund won’t buy much
Posted: April 15, 2015

Thoughts of young men turn to love in the spring, the old adage goes, but the thoughts of local and county leaders turn to paying for the damage caused by the brutal winter.

Tuesday 04/14/2015
OUR VIEW Sunny outlook has a few clouds
Posted: April 14, 2015

To some who live in the Twin Counties, it might seem as though the economy tanked seven years ago with the onset of the Great Recession.

Saturday 04/11/2015
OUR VIEW Emergency preparedness grants will serve us well
Posted: April 11, 2015

Deep into the post-Irene era, the dread of a repeat of a terrifying day that changed Greene County forever and put Columbia County on notice that it really can happen here has not entirely diminished.

Friday 04/10/2015
OUR VIEW A step forward for crime victims
Posted: April 10, 2015

Too often, victims of crime — violent or nonviolent — sacrifice their security, health and finances in the wake of the offenses committed against them. Too often, crime victims suffer in silence.

Thursday 04/09/2015
OUR VIEW Think thin
Posted: April 09, 2015

Call people in Greene County pleasingly plump, but people in Columbia County must be thinking thin.

Wednesday 04/08/2015
OUR VIEW Fraternity fatale
Posted: April 08, 2015

Most parents realize their children will likely consume alcohol from time to time, to say the least, once they go away to college.

Tuesday 04/07/2015
OUR VIEW Big win for schools
Posted: April 07, 2015

State Senator George Amedore: “There is no better investment we can make in the future of our state than to make sure our schools are properly funded.”

Saturday 04/04/2015
OUR VIEW Now is the time for more broadband
Posted: April 04, 2015

When the Internet opens up new universes of knowledge, entertainment and information, what’s barriers are left to cross? In these days of social media and miraculous speed and sharing of data, what is the new, mythical Holy Grail?

Friday 04/03/2015
OUR VIEW Newspapers win an important victory
Posted: April 03, 2015

Transparency, secrecy, information, right to know.

Thursday 04/02/2015
OUR VIEW More debate needed
Posted: April 02, 2015

Gov. Andrew M. Cuomo, Assembly Speaker Carl Heastie and Senate Majority Leader Dean Skelos were all smiles yesterday as they jointly announced an agreement for the state’s 2015-16 budget.

Wednesday 04/01/2015
OUR VIEW Rip Van Winkle goes to college
Posted: April 01, 2015

Cheers to Columbia-Greene Community College for naming the literary and legendary Rip Van Winkle to be the mascot for the campus and the C-GCC Twins.

Tuesday 03/31/2015
OUR VIEW You can’t please everybody
Posted: March 31, 2015

If there is one issue that we can agree to disagree on, it’s fracking. The opinions given on the subject are classic examples of the democratic process — just about every supporter and every opponent has had a say about fracking.

Saturday 03/28/2015
OUR VIEW Rent and responsibility
Posted: March 28, 2015

When the Founding Fathers authored the Declaration of Independence, they wrote five immortal words: “All men are created equal.” That was then. Now, it’s clear that these statesmen couldn’t have imagined the feuds between landlords and tenants, who were not created equal.

Friday 03/27/2015
OUR VIEW Driving veterans crazy
Posted: March 27, 2015

The U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs is abandoning a bird for a car, and many who have served our nation in uniform will benefit.

Thursday 03/26/2015
OUR VIEW Pushing to turn defeat into future victory
Posted: March 26, 2015

The Germantown Board of Education is working to push through its $11.4 million capital improvement project despite it being defeated at the polls by voters, 345-312, on March 10, the same night as a student concert.

Wednesday 03/25/2015
OUR VIEW The battle against sex assaults at college
Posted: March 25, 2015

Local officials recently announced their support for Gov. Andrew Cuomo’s statewide Enough is Enough call to combat sexual assault on all New York college campuses.

Tuesday 03/24/2015
OUR VIEW Public defender reform welcome
Posted: March 24, 2015

In the overall scheme of things, the settlement between five New York counties and the state over the handling of public defender services bodes well for Greene and Columbia counties.

Saturday 03/21/2015
OUR VIEW: District should heed vote result
Posted: March 21, 2015

The Germantown Board of Education is considering its options moving forward after the March 10 failed $11.4 million capital projects referendum.

Friday 03/20/2015
OUR VIEW: Support needed for TANF funding
Posted: March 20, 2015

It’s no surprise to learn that calls to cut funding to domestic violence programs are out of step with reality.

Thursday 03/19/2015
Our View: FOILed again
Updated: March 19, 2015 - 9:41 pm

March 15-21 marks this year’s recognition of Sunshine Week, a national push to advocate discussion regarding importance of open government and freedom of information.

Wednesday 03/18/2015
OUR VIEW: Welcome, spring
Updated: March 19, 2015 - 9:42 pm

At the risk of speaking too soon and potentially scaring it away, we are nonetheless going to point out that this Friday, March 20, is the first day of spring.

Tuesday 03/17/2015
OUR VIEW: Village elections are Wednesday
Updated: March 19, 2015 - 9:40 pm

Nine villages, nine decisions. Today is Election Day in Greene and Columbia counties. At stake in this relatively quiet campaign are several mayor and trustee seats.

Thursday 03/12/2015
OUR VIEW Counties should sustain job growth
Posted: March 12, 2015

Greene County’s unemployment rate tumbled from 8.3 percent in January 2014 to 7 percent in January 2015. Columbia County’s slid from 6.1 percent to 5.2 percent in that span. Whether it’s 7 percent or 5 percent, the important thing is that the statistics point to badly needed job growth in both counties.

Wednesday 03/11/2015
OUR VIEW Now is a good time
Updated: March 11, 2015 - 10:28 am

Although he will remain in office until Dec. 31, 2016, talk has already begun about who will replace United Nations Secretary-General Ban Ki-moon when the time comes.

Tuesday 03/10/2015
OUR VIEW Get out and vote
Posted: March 10, 2015

Voters will decide today the fate of the Germantown Central School District’s $11.2 million capital project referendum.

Saturday 03/07/2015
OUR VIEW Greenport’s zoning problem
Posted: March 07, 2015

The Greenport Town Board on Wednesday passed a nine-month moratorium to put a on hold site plan approvals and most building permits for areas within 500 feet of either side of Joslen Boulevard between its intersections with Route 9.

Friday 03/06/2015
OUR VIEW Upstate New Yorkers are used to winter.
Posted: March 06, 2015

We expect the season to be snowy, extremely cold at times and long. We prepare for it long before the snow flies and are generally ready with full woodpiles, snow tires, snowblowers and plows.

Thursday 03/05/2015
OUR VIEW Lessons learned
Posted: March 05, 2015

Almost seven months after Michael Brown, an unarmed black 18-year-old, was killed by white Police Officer Darren Wilson in Ferguson, Missouri, the Justice Department cleared Wilson, who resigned from the police force after the shooting.

Wednesday 03/04/2015
OUR VIEW Perchance to dream
Posted: March 04, 2015

Everyone suffers from a restless night’s sleep now and then. No real harm done, except for a tired feeling the next day. But chronic sleep loss can dramatically affect your health in ways you might not imagine.

Tuesday 03/03/2015
OUR VIEW Eat better, feel better
Posted: March 03, 2015

Healthy eating begins with quality and ends with quantity. For example, tucking into a big salad rich in vitamins and minerals and a bowl of your favorite fruit — apples or strawberries are excellent choices — makes a pretty tasty meal. Plus, it’s all good for you. And you won't feel hungry later.

Saturday 02/28/2015
OUR VIEW Mr. Cole and Mr. Church, together again
Posted: February 28, 2015

They have been discussed as a team in the art world just as Bogie and Bacall, Astaire and Rogers, and Bergman and Ullmann have been inextricably linked in the world of cinema.

Friday 02/27/2015
OUR VIEW FCC vote protects the Net
Posted: February 27, 2015

Thursday was a good day for the general public as the Federal Communications Commission voted 3-2 in favor of imposing rules to ensure Net neutrality.

Tuesday 02/24/2015
OUR VIEW Fifty shades of debate
Posted: February 24, 2015

Each day it seems we hear about a celebrity or star athlete getting into trouble over a domestic violence incident. The latest is race car driver Kurt Busch who is suspended indefinitely for beating an ex-girlfriend.

Saturday 02/21/2015
OUR VIEW Time to banish old pit bull law
Posted: February 21, 2015

History has not helped the case of the pit bull. Created by mixing bulldogs with terriers — for agility and strength — this breed has notoriously been used for blood sports, especially illegal dog fighting in the United States. The breed has gotten a bad rap for being a dangerous dog.

Friday 02/20/2015
OUR VIEW Dark side of Silver
Posted: February 20, 2015

A cauldron of corruption.”

Thursday 02/19/2015
OUR VIEW Breaking the ice
Posted: February 19, 2015

Crews from the U.S. Coast Guard board small vessels known as cutters and make their way north and south on the Hudson River through a thick carpet of ice, breaking open a path for barges to travel round trip from New York City to Albany. Cutters operate up and down the Atlantic seaboard to keep vital river traffic moving in frigid weather.

Wednesday 02/18/2015
OUR VIEW FASNY offers a gift
Posted: February 18, 2015

Some programs have a strong but narrow focus. Others, like the Firemen’s Association of the State of New York’s college reimbursement program, can have a beneficial impact on many levels.

Tuesday 02/17/2015
OUR VIEW Getting vets needed help
Posted: February 17, 2015

President Barack Obama signed legislation last week, co-authored by U.S. Rep. Chris Gibson

Saturday 02/14/2015
OUR VIEW Love rollercoaster
Posted: February 14, 2015

“Does anyone know what love is?”

Sports Chatham Courier Windham Journal

Next stop: Tampa Bay

After years of dominating the local high school football landscape and then producing at a high level in college, Chatham High School graduate Josh Keyes has officially found his opportunity t…