Columbia-Greene Media: Editorials

default avatar
Welcome to the site! Login or Signup below.
|
||
Logout|My Dashboard

Editorials

Opinion

OUR VIEW George J. Pulver Jr.

George J. Pulver Jr. — most recently a Greene County Court judge — who was eulogized by many of his peers Friday, one day after he died, richly deserved the accolades. His career in law, politics and jurisprudence was long and far-reaching.

  • icon Posted: September 01

More From Opinion

Recent Headlines

Tuesday 09/01/2015
OUR VIEW George J. Pulver Jr.
Posted: September 01, 2015

George J. Pulver Jr. — most recently a Greene County Court judge — who was eulogized by many of his peers Friday, one day after he died, richly deserved the accolades. His career in law, politics and jurisprudence was long and far-reaching.

Tuesday 08/25/2015
OUR VIEW Hudson River art meets the Big Apple
Posted: August 25, 2015

They’re cinematic, they’re primordial — and they’re the hottest commodities in town. They’re the paintings of Thomas Cole and Jasper L. Cropsey and many others, the current stars of the Hudson Valley School of Landscape Art.

Saturday 08/22/2015
OUR VIEW We’re in for a fight
Posted: August 22, 2015

Heading into the clubhouse turn, the race for the Cuomo Cup — the Upstate Revitalization Initiative — stopped at Columbia-Greene Community College this week.

Friday 08/21/2015
OUR VIEW Dogs and dollars
Posted: August 21, 2015

An old proverb got a new meaning this week when the Columbia-Greene Humane Society revised its fee structure for boarding dogs.

Thursday 08/20/2015
OUR VIEW This is not a test
Posted: August 20, 2015

“Unfortunately, when we have these levels of students not taking the test, I don’t know what to make of the data anymore,” lamented New Lebanon School Superintendent Leslie Whitcomb about the opt-out rates released by the state Education Department this week.

OUR VIEW This is not a test
Posted: August 20, 2015

“Unfortunately, when we have these levels of students not taking the test, I don’t know what to make of the data anymore,” lamented New Lebanon School Superintendent Leslie Whitcomb about the opt-out rates released by the state Education Department this week.

Wednesday 08/19/2015
OUR VIEW 9/11 heroes deserve care and compensation
Posted: August 19, 2015

Sometimes the government does things — or omits something — that defy logic.

Tuesday 08/18/2015
OUR VIEW Lifesaver or enabler?
Posted: August 18, 2015

We have learned about a new development in police work.

Saturday 08/15/2015
OUR VIEW Social Security at the crossroads
Posted: August 15, 2015

Retirees see their travel plans cut short. Disabled workers are forced to live on limited savings. Mothers and their children go hungry. It sounds like a fiscal and societal nightmare.

Friday 08/14/2015
OUR VIEW River of no return
Posted: August 14, 2015

People living in Durango, Colorado, and along the borders of Utah and Arizona are learning what we Hudson Valley denizens already know all too well: Contaminants that settle at the bottoms of rivers get stirred up and flow again.

Thursday 08/13/2015
OUR VIEW The eyes of the world
Posted: August 13, 2015

For four glorious summer days, the eyes of the world were fixed on Windham.
The 2015 UCI Mountain Bicycle World Cup tournament arrived last weekend to be greeted by a party atmosphere and open arms.
This is arguably the event that will alter Greene County’s tourism landscape forever.
An international contingent of world-class professional downhill and cross-country cyclists competed in nine globally recognized races.
It isn’t the Tour de France, but its prestige is well-known around the world. And it took place right here in this area.
All credit to the town of Windham, which is the only American stop on the UCI tour. Windham, for all time, will be spoken in the same breath as Lourdes, France; Fort William, Scotland; Lenzerheide, Switzerland; Val di Sole, Italy and many others.
We congratulate this small, rural community in the Catskill Mountains for bringing distinction to the region.
This is the fifth UCI, or Union Cycliste Internationale, tournament that Windham has hosted in the last six years. As a big FYI, the Tour de France, the zenith of road bike racing, is a UCI World Tour event.
That places Windham and the rest of the region in the rarefied air of global professional sports.
A German film crew shot the races for UCI, which sells the television rights all over the world. Hundreds of reporters covered the event. Racers brought their families and support crews.
We congratulate all the athletes who competed in Windham last weekend. Win or lose, they brought the world to our little community. That’s a remarkable achievement.

Wednesday 08/12/2015
OUR VIEW A way out of the Medicaid maze
Posted: August 12, 2015

Enter the world of Medicare and Medicaid and you enter a maze that could take years to escape.

Saturday 08/08/2015
OUR VIEW: Business urged to attend URI forum
Posted: August 08, 2015

Less than two weeks from now, Columbia and Greene county businesses will get a rare opportunity to have a say on what regional economic development initiatives should be a priority.

Friday 08/07/2015
OUR VIEW: A touch of gray in the workplace
Posted: August 07, 2015

“It is very clear there is discrimination in the hiring of older folks.”

Saturday 07/25/2015
OUR VIEW Remembering a forgettable day
Posted: July 25, 2015

One of the most enduring images of the 20th century shows a helicopter shuddering into takeoff from the roof of a seedy hotel, packed with frightened faces and men dangling from the doors. It is the indelible image of the fall of Saigon in 1975.

Friday 07/24/2015
OUR VIEW Appetizer, then main course
Posted: July 24, 2015

You have to walk before you can run. Such is the case with fast-food workers who stand to earn a $15-an-hour minimum wage. They will take baby steps before they can make a dash to their goal.

Thursday 07/23/2015
OUR VIEW Tax cap noose tightens
Posted: July 23, 2015

This is a good news, bad news tale. The good news is for taxpayers; the bad news is for local governments.

Wednesday 07/22/2015
OUR VIEW Display fouled the home of pride
Posted: July 22, 2015

Let’s say you walk into Columbia Memorial Hospital for treatment and you make yourself comfortable in a family room.

Tuesday 07/21/2015
OUR VIEW Jail revenue will test counties
Posted: July 21, 2015

With one — we repeat, one — foray into action, the Greene and Columbia county Shared Response Team has garnered some success, or at least a basis for seeing what happens next.

Saturday 07/18/2015
OUR VIEW Pitfalls of dog breed misconceptions
Posted: July 18, 2015

There’s a perfectly good reason why dogs are known as “man’s best friend.”  

Friday 07/17/2015
OUR VIEW The phone case with no value
Posted: July 17, 2015

Thursday 07/16/2015
OUR VIEW A million for 18
Posted: July 16, 2015

Eighteen Mid-Hudson Cablevision employees resolved to bet on their luck five years ago when they started kicking in $2 apiece to play MegaMillions each week.

Wednesday 07/15/2015
OUR VIEW Cool summer
Posted: July 15, 2015

Hot enough for you? Probably not, because the National Weather Service says this has been one of the coolest summers on record.

Tuesday 07/14/2015
OUR VIEW C-GCC will withstand fitful enrollment
Posted: July 14, 2015

More than most New York staters, families in Greene and Columbia counties rely on their community college to provide quality higher education and job training. They expect first-rate academic standards, and they expect these standards to be matched by affordability.

Saturday 07/11/2015
OUR VIEW Protect your home while you’re away
Posted: July 11, 2015

The summer months are filled with day trips and vacations. Unfortunately, this is also a busy time for burglars.

Friday 07/10/2015
OUR VIEW Technology serves man — until it doesn’t
Posted: July 10, 2015

Imagine it: The nation’s most prominent business newspaper, its most influential stock exchange and its biggest airline crippled or knocked out cold by mysterious technology problems.

Thursday 07/09/2015
OUR VIEW First response
Posted: July 09, 2015

Tuesday’s raid carried out by the Columbia-Greene Shared Services Response Team at a South Front Street apartment building in Hudson wasn’t exactly the stuff action movies are made of, but it was effective and it reinforced the case for such a unit.

Wednesday 07/08/2015
OUR VIEW Here comes the rain again … we hope
Posted: July 08, 2015

Rain washes away many trials and tribulations.

Saturday 07/04/2015
OUR VIEW Celebrating the 4th
Posted: July 04, 2015

Today, the nation celebrates its 239th birthday, marking the occasion with parades, fireworks, barbecues and festive gatherings. Although historians differ over the actual signing date, July 4 has been designated as the day the members of the Second Continental Congress signed the Declaration of Independence, severing our ties with the British Empire.

Friday 07/03/2015
OUR VIEW Safety at Kaaterskill Falls
Posted: July 03, 2015

“DEC is committed to protecting and maintaining this unique natural and historic treasure in a manner that enhances public safety, and is consistent with forest preserve management principles.”

Thursday 07/02/2015
OUR VIEW Cacophony of voices
Posted: July 02, 2015

If you’ve ever wandered around a crowded shopping mall or grocery store, town park or street festival, you may have heard voices that appear to be directed at you.

Wednesday 07/01/2015
OUR VIEW A happy ending to a dangerous story
Posted: July 01, 2015

Hollywood couldn’t have crafted the saga of the Clinton Correctional Facility prison break any better had William Goldman written it and Steven Spielberg directed it.

Monday 06/29/2015
OUR VIEW CGM unveils series on Independence Day
Posted: June 29, 2015

“This nation will remain the land of the free only so long as it is the home of the brave.”

Saturday 06/27/2015
OUR VIEW Message to the grads: Blaze your own trails
Posted: June 27, 2015

“Do not go where the path may lead; go instead where there is no path and leave a trail.”

Friday 06/26/2015
OUR VIEW ‘Tac squad’ handed big responsibilities
Posted: June 26, 2015

Any life-threatening crisis is a fluid situation. People are injured, danger is pervasive, chaos abruptly becomes the order of the day and getting potential victims out of harm’s way is the top priority.

Thursday 06/25/2015
OUR VIEW A great job by the Twin Counties
Posted: June 25, 2015

Based on the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics, New York state’s private sector job count increased by 139,300 from May 2014 to May 2015.

Wednesday 06/24/2015
OUR VIEW Every dollar counts
Posted: June 24, 2015

Critics have predicted that an increase in the minimum wage from $8.75 an hour to as much as $15 an hour will doom small businesses and eliminate jobs.

Tuesday 06/23/2015
OUR VIEW The immediate problem of voter turnout
Posted: June 23, 2015

Voters in Greene and Columbia counties, along with those nationwide, face an interesting conundrum. Voting is a right they have in the democratic process. But they can decide not to vote, a choice they are free to make in the democratic process.

Saturday 06/20/2015
OUR VIEW Sing for our fathers
Posted: June 20, 2015

“You cannot teach a man anything; you can only help him discover it in himself.”

Friday 06/19/2015
OUR VIEW End-of-session progress made
Posted: June 19, 2015

Wonder of wonders, the state Legislature finally contributed something of value Thursday when the Assembly followed the Senate and passed a bill to prohibit workplace discrimination based on family status, intended to protect women from bias in employment, pay and advancement.

Thursday 06/18/2015
OUR VIEW Under the skin
Posted: June 18, 2015

You can’t judge a book by its cover, but can you judge a national leader by her color?

Wednesday 06/17/2015
OUR VIEW: Pride Week
Posted: June 17, 2015

EDITOR'S NOTE: This editorial reflects corrections.

Tuesday 06/16/2015
OUR VIEW Unwanted milestone
Posted: June 16, 2015

Friday 06/12/2015
OUR VIEW Honor the stars and stripes
Posted: June 12, 2015

On June 14, 1777, Congress adopted the stars and stripes as the flag of the United States. On June 14, 1885 in Waubeka, Wisconsin, a 19-year-old teacher placed a 10-inch, 38-star flag in a bottle on his desk and assigned an essay on the flag and its significance. This may have been the first Flag Day observance — a small, modest classroom lesson.

Thursday 06/11/2015
OUR VIEW The bizarre case of Alex Mengel
Posted: June 11, 2015

Prison breaks are the stuff of legend, particularly when the circumstances are surrounded by outlaw glamour, violence and a touch of the mysterioso.

Wednesday 06/10/2015
OUR VIEW Horse of a slightly different color
Posted: June 10, 2015

American Pharoah ran his way to the Triple Crown, but for our money, the king is a little chestnut named Roo.

Tuesday 06/09/2015
OUR VIEW Gibson’s war on Lyme disease
Posted: June 09, 2015

Rep. Chris Gibson, R-19, has authored legislation that calls for creation of an agency that would allow the National Institute of Health and the Centers for Disease Control to coordinate information about and responses to Lyme disease.

Saturday 06/06/2015
OUR VIEW Hands off wild animals
Posted: June 06, 2015

There is probably nothing more adorable than a baby animal —  or more appealing than a baby animal found in the wild. Oh, those big eyes. That hopeful, beseeching look suggests an inability to fend for themselves. It hits us where we live. We want to help these small creatures when we see them.

Friday 06/05/2015
OUR VIEW C-GM series tackles minimum wage
Posted: June 05, 2015

A panel created by Gov. Andrew Cuomo is scheduled to hold the first hearing in Buffalo today on a proposed minimum wage increase to $10.50 an hour statewide and $11 in New York City.

Thursday 06/04/2015
OUR VIEW We are not immune to severe weather
Posted: June 04, 2015

We often think that our area is immune to severe spring and summer weather. We are generally protected by the Catskill Mountains to the west and the Berkshires to the east. And we are not located in “tornado alley,” although a few storms later confirmed as tornadoes have sneaked through.

Sports Chatham Courier Windham Journal

Tremont charges in for win

With only three race nights remaining on the schedule, Saturday was crunch time for Lebanon Valley Speedway competitors. Brett Hearn entered with a 19-point lead in the Modifieds eager to char…